Easing into Vacation

This is how excited I am about finally being on vacation

After waiting for a couple late assignments from students in one of my classes, I finally submitted my fall semester grades for my final class, and promptly took a nap, this morning.

Clearly, I’m on vacation.

Taking on a 30-day writing challenge during vacation is hilariously ironic because I have plenty of writing I should be doing, but my brain is going on “hibernation” mode for the winter, and I feel like what I really need is to write about the joyful mundane, at least for the next week or so while I’m actually on break, partly so I can remember the beauty of it in the insanity of my day-to-day life.

So, this vacation blog will be a mini-journal of my day-to-day, which this morning included getting up ridiculously early with my 3 year old, making a breakfast casserole from hash browns, eggs, breakfast sausage & cheddar, submitting my grades, dog walking with the kids (with them having adorable sidewalk races, which my 12 year old let my 3 year old win), taking a nap, editing Faculty Council meeting minutes, playing charades, watching some Vampirina and now doing this blog with a cup of tea.

We’ll have some family & friend time a little later, or maybe I’ll start my organizing, using my new amazing planner (which was a gift from my brother-in-law & his wife, thanks Jon & Linh), or maybe I’ll binge watch some Food Network show.

But for now, I’m going to do a whole lot of nothing, maybe while listening to some Christmas Carols…

4 thoughts on “Easing into Vacation

    • It’s a Simple Elephant planner from my sister in law. I love it. It’s beautiful and understated and designed to keep me present to my goals and how busy my life is which is helpful 🙂 I just have to keep up with it, which is my problem with most paper planners. But, I’m hoping I can commit to slowing down enough to use it.

  1. Watch Top Chef Junior if you can. It’s so good! [And I can’t wait to see your planner (and YOU!)]

    And why is “gory cull” my anti-spam word?

    • Ooh! Okay, will check out Top Chef Junior — I think Nate will like it. Will bring my planner up to see you. Can’t wait! And, hmmmm, on “gory cull” 🙁

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *