Day 23: Involving the Community in My Classroom

Day 23: Write about one way that you “meaningfully” involve the community in the learning in your classroom. If you don’t yet do so, discuss one way you could get started.

This one is a tough one depending on how we conceive the notion of “community.” In a teacher credentialing program, we are always at work in the school community through fieldwork and practicum hours and having my course embedded on school sites has allowed me to involve the “community” at the school by inviting teachers and administrators to participate in the gallery walk showcase of student cross-curricular projects.  I also invite the “community” of my PLN into my classroom by regularly tweeting pictures and insights from my classroom.  In this way, I make my practice public and invite a view of my classroom.

As far as the local community, however, I haven’t really involved the community in learning in my classroom  so much. I’d be interested in having former students who are working in the community come back to my classroom in order to share insights that they have from their work in the community and the way that they incorporate the community into their teaching and learning processes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *