Just a Moment

Photo by Kien Do on Unsplash

It has been an insane week.

It’s been a week when so many of my identities, but especially those of mother and assistant professor, have intersected in ways that have made it clear that coexistence in the same time and space aren’t always easy.

But, I made it through the week.  I dropped the ball on a few things, but everyone is safe and happy. My almost 3 year old is napping peacefully; my 12 year old is at Tae Kwon Do practice after an unexpected “Spring Break with Mom;” my lesson plans are graded; my IRB revision is resubmitted; my AERA presentations are ready to go; my volunteer fundraiser is set up; my 9 miles is run; my interview for another volunteer event is set up; my non-profit presentation is done; my class has been filmed; my students’ dissertations responded to; my e-mails (mostly) answered. And now, there is a moment to reflect.

But only a moment. The almost 3-year old is awake.  She wants Mommy to sit with her as she rests while her Papa gets her book from the car.

It is just a moment. They are all a series of moments in this sometimes crazy and overwhelming, but also beautiful life.

And these moments are the most precious.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *