Cultivating Time for Research, Writing, and Thinking

typewriter-801921__180

It’s so easy to lose a day. Or, at least, to lose track of a day.

For me, it’s easy to get lost in preparation for teaching.  I’m a teacher at the core of my professional identity and I always have been.

school-916678__180

Teaching comes easily to me and is always gratifying.  Students respond well. I feel accomplished, satisfied in the fact that my students are getting the best of me and I’m helping to contribute to their professional growth.

But, I’m also an academic–a really nerdy academic who loves going to conferences and listening to deep thinkers tackle important issues around education.

glasses-143762__180

And, for me, if I don’t start my day with writing, research and thinking, before all the “have-to” things for the day creep in, it’s unlikely that it will get done.

I’m writing this to remind myself to keep research, writing and thinking time sacred.  I can’t be the best me if I ignore a central part of myself and, as much as I love the naturalness with which teaching comes to me, I also am deeply fulfilled by the challenge of thinking and writing.

Honor, integrate and cultivate <3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *