Invisaligning My Life

My 12-year old, Nate, got Invisalign just before the new year.  In case you have perfect teeth or got your orthodontia prior to the existence of Invisalign, it’s akin to braces, but uses transparent trays to more gently move your teeth, week by week, towards their proper positioning.  The process is less painful than traditional braces and more discreet, but the goal is the same, to align your teeth.

We’re in the 10th day of a new year, one in which I outlined several goals to help me align my life to my values.  I’m actually doing pretty well on them, in general, but the change is a lot like Invisalign.  It’s not super noticeable to the outside world, although those closest to me can see the trays, but the change is beginning.

It’s also a multi-step process.

When my son and I went to the orthodontist, they called his teeth a “complicated” case (which meant multiple issues that would require multi-step orthodontia, brackets, retainers, Invisalign on top & bottom, maybe a tooth extraction).  I am a complicated case as well.  There are parts of my list of goals that I have been able to address right away, causing immediate change to my normal habits and slight discomfort. There are others that will take more time, and will likely be more painful.

What I’m doing better with:

  • Greater intentionality with my time and energy
  • Being more self-compassionate and taking better care of myself (more deliberately)
  • Reading, writing, reflecting and thinking more
  • Cooking more, eating more delicious food, exploring new places (and to some degree, helping my student experience new things)
  • Being open to change

What I’m still working on:

  • Praying more
  • Setting better boundaries and sticking to them (this one is going to be really, really hard for me)
  • Self-compassion –it’s on both lists because sometimes I’ve been better at it, but sometimes, I slip back into my old habits.

What I’m realizing is that it’s hard, but it’s also all good in this process.  I am growing. I am aligning. I am changing.  And that is uncomfortable.  If it was easy, everyone would do it.  It took me a long time to get to the degree of workaholism that I currently am at.  It’s going to take me awhile to get out of it too.

But, one family dinner at a time, one blog post at a time, one “no” at a time, I am taking steps towards change.

Hopefully at the end of the process, I’ll have the fuller life I’m looking for, and some straight teeth….oh wait, that’s actual Invisalign. Well, at least my kid will have straighter teeth after all is said and done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *