Beauty in the Brokenness

shattered glass

Thank you.

Dozens of you, my close friends and family, my colleagues and acquaintances, Twitter folx who have never met me, held me up today.

I felt your uplift.

I needed every bit of it.

The day is over and I have a huge headache. I have a huge heartache. I feel the tears that I’ve held back all day coming forth.

Joys Amidst the Sorrow

My daughter had as good a first day as one could expect from a 5-year old doing distance learning who only finds things interesting when she is in complete control of the outcome (I wonder who she gets that from…).

I love her teacher. Today, in the opening session of her kindergarten class, her teacher not only read All Are Welcome Here but explicitly made reference to the difference in skin tone of the children and the difference in lunches the students might bring from their own cultures (using her son and her as an example with different cultural foods) and made it a point to say that we don’t yuck people’s yum (essentially).

My son is actively advocating for himself, emailing his teachers when there are issues with the online communication and asking for help when he needs it.

I think the Professional Development session that I co-facilitated went well. The feedback was largely positive.

I’ve been uplifted throughout the day by calls, texts, messages, etc.

Sorrow Amidst the Sorrow

My m.o. with grief is to power through, but I have learned that the idea of “powering through” is how grief gets delayed. There is no “powering through” or going around. There is only going through.

I am still now.

I am done with what I have to do today, that cannot be done another day, well until my 6:30 pm PTSA meeting, but done for the next couple hours.

I am so sad.

I am so tired.

It is so much to bear.

That’s the update.

Thank you for your kindness.

It has been deeply felt.

It is still deeply needed.

 

One thought on “Beauty in the Brokenness

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *