How do you hold it all?

hands holding a glass vase pouring water

How do you hold death and grief,

trauma and everyday drama,

joy and accomplishment,

productivity and pain,

all in one heart?

all in one head?

all in one body?

There is only space for it all in community.

Community heals.

It does not erase the pain, but I have been through erasure and it’s not healing.

It lightens the load.

It reminds me that there is light in the fog of the everyday

and in the dark of darkest night.

It reminds me that I grieve because I love deeply,

and I have joy because I love deeply.

It reminds me that some things can be let go,

and others will never let me go.

It reminds me that I am not holding it all in my heart, my head, my body.

It is not only mine.

We were not meant to walk in the world alone.

How do I hold it all?

In community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *